Nurses Arena Forum

Welcome, Guest: Help / Recent Posts / Search / Login / Register

Stats: 3578 Members, 7784 topics. Date: May 21, 2019, 10:02:52 AM

Nominations Open for the Christiane Reimann Prize for 2017 - Inventions - Nurses Arena Forum

Nurses Arena Forum / General Category / Inventions / Nominations Open for the Christiane Reimann Prize for 2017 (1460) Views

Pages (1) (Print) (Go Down)

Nominations Open for the Christiane Reimann Prize for 2017 by Idowu Olabode : June 18, 2016, 08:40:43 PM
The Christiane Reimann Prize is named after the International Council of Nurses’ first full-time Executive Secretary and is funded by a trust reserve established through Ms Reimann’s will.
Christiane Reimann was born in Denmark and graduated from Copenhagen’s Bispebjerg Hospital in 1916. She became Executive Secretary of ICN in 1925. In 1934 she left ICN to manage her farm in Syracuse, Italy where she died in 1979 at the age of 92.
Christiane Reimann believed in the tremendous potential of nursing and ICN. Many key ICN programmes were initiated by her, including the creation of ICN’s official journal, the International Nursing Review.
About the Prize

The Christiane Reimann Prize recognises outstanding nursing achievement and is known all over the world as nursing’s most prestigious international award.
The prize is awarded every four years to one or more Registered Nurses (first level), who have made a significant impact on the nursing profession internationally, or through the nursing profession for the benefit of humanity. The prize is a substantial cash award and a hand-painted porcelain statue of a nurse.
The award epitomises the values and standards that define ICN as the leader in nursing internationally. The list of previous recipients represents a wealth of outstanding achievement in nursing science and practice. We urge you to take part in choosing the next nurse to join this list. It could be someone who has touched your life.
Nominees may come from any part of the world and from any nursing background. You may know a nurse whose vision, leadership and commitment to the advancement of nursing knowledge, make her or him an eligible nominee.
Previous recipients of the Christiane Reimann Prize
1985 :
The world’s ‘most beloved nurse’, writer, clinician and researcher Virginia Henderson, USA, author of the landmark text Basic Principles of Nursing Care, was the inaugural recipient of the Christiane Reimann Award.

1989 :
The recipient of the Prize, Dame Nita Barrow, Barbados, was considered one of the world’s leading experts in public health and health education of her time during a career spanning over forty years at the time of her award.

1993 :
Dame Sheila Quinn, United Kingdom, received the Prize. for her leading role in establishing the position of nursing within Europe and in improving nursing education throughout Europe.

1997 :
Dr Mo-Im Kim, Korea, and Dr Hildegard Peplau, USA, shared the Prize. Dr Kim was recognised for her multifaceted work in improving health, enhancing the nursing profession at national and international levels and for her continuing major influence in the development of community health and social policy. Dr Peplau’s revolutionary work in patient-nurse relationships set the groundwork for the speciality of psychiatric nursing. She introduced many innovations in graduate education and nursing research.

2005 :
Dr Margretta Madden Styles, USA, a nurse scholar renowned globally as an international leader in nursing education, regulation and credentialing, was awarded the Christiane Reimann Prize for her remarkable achievements.

2009 :
Dr Máximo A. González Jurado, Spain, was acknowledged for his development of nursing in Spain and its impact on the professional regulation as well as for the strengthening of nursing in South America and Africa.

Former President of the International Council of Nurses, the Danish Nurses Organisation and the Nordic Nurses Federation, Kirsten Stallknecht was awarded the Christiane Reimann for her enthusiasm and passion for nursing and her encouragement of nurses around the world to strive for excellence in nursing.

1. Nominations

a) Any nurse (or group of 2 or 3 nurses collaborating on the same project) meeting the above criteria may be nominated for the Prize, with the exception of current members of the ICN, FNIF and ICNF Boards of Directors and staff.
b) Individuals or groups of individuals with the exception of current members of the ICN, FNIF and ICNF Boards of Directors and staff may submit nominations. Any one individual or group of individuals (including the NNA) may sponsor only one nomination.
c) Nominations must be channelled to ICN through NNAs in membership with ICN. NNAs will do no pre-screening of nominations. However, a letter must accompany all nominations from the NNA certifying that the nominee is a member of the association.
d) Nominations must be typed on the appropriate form and forwarded to ICN headquarters one year prior to the next ICN Quadrennial Congress.
e) All nomination forms must bear the signature of the nominee(s), confirming their consent to be nominated.
f) A curriculum vitae of the nominee(s) must be submitted, together with the completed nomination form plus a summary of the CV with no more than five pages.
g) A recent small black and white photograph of the nominee, with her/his name and the date on the back, should be attached (for publicity purposes only).
h) The nature of the specific contribution and its significance must be fully documented.
i) A Christiane Reimann Prize recipient may not be nominated again. However, nominees unsuccessful in a previous competition may be re-nominated.
j) The prize is not made posthumously.
k) The nominee selected and her/his national nurses’ association will be notified of the result immediately after the selection is made. All nominees will be notified shortly thereafter and sent a copy of the press release.
2. National Nurses Association Responsibilities

National nurses associations (NNAs) are asked to:
a) Announce to their members the availability of the prize, and the conditions attached to it.
b) Distribute the nomination package, including Brochure, Nomination Form, and Eligibility Criteria and Selection Procedure.
c) Ensure that submitted Nomination Forms and the accompanying documents are complete, typed and signed appropriately.
d) Forward to ICN headquarters, the Nomination Form, including certification of the nominee’s membership in the NNA, to arrive no later than the date specified by ICN. (NNAs will do no pre-screening of nominees.)
e) Publicise the recipient of the prize.
NNAs wishing to make a nomination as an organisation are limited to one nominee (be it an individual nurse or group of 2-3 nurses collaborating on the same project.)

Pages (1) (Send)

Viewing this topic: 0 Members and 1 Guest

Call For Submissions: $10,000 Innovation Prize

Started by Idowu Olabode

Replies: 0
Views: 837
Last post November 12, 2015, 02:16:34 PM
by Idowu Olabode
Call For Submissions: $10,000 Innovation Prize

Started by Idowu Olabode

Replies: 0
Views: 1186
Last post November 12, 2015, 02:16:45 PM
by Idowu Olabode

(Go Up)

Nurses Arena Forum - Copyright © 2014 - 2019 Developed By Martin Sunday. All rights reserved.
SMF 2.0.14 | SMF © 2017, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums

Disclaimer: Every Nurses Arena Forum member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nurses Arena Forum.